Georgia Milestones: What content areas and grade​​ levels are tested?

Students in grades 3 through 8 will take an end-of-grade (EOG) assessment in the content areas of language arts, mathematics, science, social studies.  These tests are administered towards the end of the school year, typically in April or early May.  Each school district selects a local testing window from within the state designated timeframe to administer the end-of-grade measures.


Students at the high school level will take an end-of-course assessment (EOC) in the following ten courses:

Language Arts

  • Ninth Grade Literature and Composition
  • American Literature and Composition


  • Algebra I (Beginning Winter 2015)
  • Geometry (Beginning Winter 2015)
  • Coordinate Algebra
  • Analytic Geometry


  • Biology
  • Physical Science

Social Studies

  • United States History
  • Economics/Business/Free Enterprise
    The end-of-course measures are administered at the completion of the course, regardless of the grade level.  These measures serve as the final exam for the course, and contribute 20% to the student’s final course grade.  Each school district selects a local testing window, based on their local school calendar, from within the state-designated testing window. Middle school students who are enrolled in one or more of these courses are required to take the associated end-of-course (EOC) measure. If enrolled in a mathematics and/or science EOC course, these middle school students will not take the corresponding content area end-of-grade (EOG) measure.